Namibia to issue visa on arrival for certain countries - News - Gondwana Collection


Gondwana's Newsroom

Namibia to issue visa on arrival for certain countries

Avatar of inke inke - 17. juin 2019 - Tourism

Hosea Kutako International Airport, Windhoek, Namibia. Photo: Ji-Elle

Brigitte Weidlich

Namibia will soon start issuing visas to visitors on arrival as a pilot phase. The Minister of Information and Communication Technology (MICT) Stanley Simataa announced this on Thursday, 13 June 2019. “The Cabinet has approved a submission of the Ministry of Home Affairs and Immigration”, Simataa told reporters at a press conference. The exact date of commencement will be disclosed at a later stage.

The pilot will start at the Hosea Kutako International Airport (HKIA) and visitors from the following European, Arab and Asian countries can obtain their visa on arrival: Belarus, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Chile, Czech Republic, Hungary, Mexico, Moldova, Nicaragua, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, South Korea, Venezuela, Vietnam, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, Singapore and Ukraine. Visitors will be charged N$1000 (about 60 Euros) for the visa upon arrival at the HKIA.

Nationals from the following African countries can also obtain a visa on arrival at the HKIA: Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic (CAR), Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Madagascar, Mauritania, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principé, Sierra Leone, Togo, Tunisia, Western Sahara Republic and Uganda.

Namibian authorities have however already exempted foreign nationals from visa requirements several years ago if they are travelling to Namibia on holiday. These include Angola, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Cuba, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Liechtenstein and Lesotho. 

The same visa exemption applies for tourists from Luxemburg, Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritius, Moldova, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Russian Federation, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, USA, Uzbekistan, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

In a second phase Namibia will phase in visa applications on arrival at the border posts of Ariamsvlei, Noordoewer, Oranjemund, Trans-Kalahari (Buitepos), Wenela, Oshikango and Walvis Bay.

The governments of Namibia and Botswana are currently also in discussions to exempt citizens of both countries from visa requirements when travelling between these two countries.

Hosea Kutako International Airport in Windhoek. Photo: FlyByNight
New comment


Stay up-to-date with our monthly 'Gondwana Tracks' Newsletter Sign up Today